Soundtrack pt 2 Electric boogaloo

Turns out I did get into Tame Impala a little. New obsession? Perhaps. Still obsessed with Interpol, but I was played a few songs this week that have made it into the rotation. We introduce The Happy Fits this week, the week of week 4 in Narva. The week of strong baselines, cake, a boat, and rainbows. This time an excess of rain as well.

Monday, bus back from Tallin. Eagles Fly, and Soothsayer by Buckethead. I am glued to compilation videos of the F-15 Eagle, these are the songs on my favorite videos. I like looking up from my lines of vocab to see jets turning and burning in blue skies, yeehaw. Shout out to Jimbobovich for the rec on FLOORCRY and The Happy Fits, those are cemented in my Estonian Summer 2k23 memories.

Tuesday we get cake at lunch for the 4th of July. Yay America. Eagles Fly fits the vibe.

Thursday we get to be on a boat, that was neat. I don’t recall any tunes for this part. I’m sure someone else will write about the boat.

Gym music this week is Tame Impala. New Person, Same Old Mistakes goes pretty hard, same with Mind Mischief. Powerlines has made it into the playlist as well, but we haven’t forgotten Interpol. Leif Erickson and Obstacle 1 are given a featured spot, and Untitled which I’ve just realized is really really [redacted] cool. I’m more comfortable taking up space in the gym bros free weight corner. Routine is established and the days are fast even while stuck inside most of the time.

Boring week, been focusing on studying and homework more than exploring. Doesn’t help that the weather has been gray and wet the whole time. Urge to be outside is low. Literally, the days blend into each other. Tallin was a great interruption from the monotony, I’m excited about Tartu. The Growlers song Monotonia plays sometimes in my head, looking at the gray outside. But, we’ve seen TWO double rainbows this week, so that’s something.

Y la monotonia es un asesino lento.

Saturday is a study day, and I devoured an audiobook called The Art of Clear Thinking by Hasard Lee while memorizing pages of vocab. Hasard Lee writes about critical thinking as a fighter pilot and uses examples of his experiences flying the F-16 (known as the Viper) to detail how he processes information to make informed and effective decisions. I realize this is irrelevant to Narva, but mom said it’s my blog post and I can write what I want. I have been chair flying to fill the void from being stuck on the ground and I’m desperate to feel adrenaline again. This has been week 4 in Narva, Estonia.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started